But I love you more!

As a single parent we make sacrifices everyday. From losing sleep to giving up the only meal you’ve had time to eat, these are just some of the joys of being the only parent. For the past two years I have made the sacrifice of being a stay at home single mom. While this has been a great opportunity to bond with my Ani my two year old I’ve also accomplished finishing up my degree in business administration. While this should be the happiest point in my life, I’m stricken with guilt.

The thought of being away from ani for such long hours makes me feel guilty. Will the daycare treat her the same as I? Will she be afraid of me leaving her with strangers? Will our bond grow cold? All of these questions are circling through my head. I am not alone however, many single parents feel guilt of having to go to work. We feel as though we are super heroes because we have been doing it by ourselves for so long. But it’s ok to welcome help sometime.

That guilt that we feel is just another form of our unconditional love we feel for our children. In the long run, our children will express their admiration and appreciation for our hard work! So let’s get rid of out guilt and pay ourselves on the back for a job well done! Remember single parents rock!

Leave a Reply

